Today’s Mission

TODAY’S VERSE

“Don’t you know or understand even yet? Are your hearts too hard to take it in? ‘You have eyes—can’t you see? You have ears—can’t you hear?’ Don’t you remember anything at all?”
Mark 8: 17-18 (NLT)

TODAY’S THOUGHT
It is a mystery but it seems God has placed His creation in cycles. The sun rises, the sun sets. The seasons come and go. We take a breath and it is followed by another. I eat today and tomorrow I must do it again. And so it goes with faith. We can’t live on yesterday’s manna. We must trust God to meet today’s needs and then do it all over again the next day. And so in today’s passage it seems that Jesus is rebuking His disciples for lacking faith in His provision. But as I thought more about Jesus’ reaction I think Jesus’ frustration goes much deeper than that. Sure the disciples were worrying about food, and Jesus found it appalling, especially after He had just fed the masses that came to hear His teaching. But it wasn’t the food that frustrated Jesus. I think it was the lack of passion in the disciples that perplexed Him. They were talking about bread. People were being healed, demons cast out, repentance preached. And yet it seemed that the disciples were oblivious to the mission Jesus had. Their hearts were hard. They had eyes but did not see. They had ears but did not hear. If they really did see and hear I think they would have been begging Jesus to go to more towns. There were more people to reach. More people that needed the message of love. More that needed healing. Heaven itself would not be able to stop them. But, like us, their new day was pressing in. Their needs, their plans, their concerns overshadowed Jesus’ agenda. What about you and I? What consumes us? What have we seen? What have we heard? What have we forgotten? Today, might we see with the eyes of Christ and move with His heart planted deep in our chest.

TODAY’S PRAYER
Oh Jesus, I confess I have had a front row seat and somehow turn around and forget all the miracles You have done. I let Your power and goodness escape my mind and make decisions as if You did not exist. Forgive me. Today revive my heart. Fill me with Your Spirit that I might live for You.
AMEN

___________________________________________

CLICK HERE to send this to a friend

You can get this Daily Devotional sent to your e-mail as “Moment In the Word”. CLICK HERE to have this Daily E-votional sent to your e-mail

Do You Know What Your Spiritual Gifts Are?
Now You Can. CLICK HERE to Get your FREE Spiritual GIfts Test and Workbook

Do you want to know how to be a Child of God? CLICK HERE to find out how

About Ronald

I am a Christian who deeply believes in God and the purposes He has put us on earth for. I started in ministry when I was 20 years old. I have been involved in both evangelism and compassion ministires. I deeply believe in our mission to help those in need. I believe however,that the church has missed our calling. We have not been effective in loving others as we would love ourselves. We have not been using our Spiritual Gifts to make a difference in this world. We have not mobilized to be the salt and light in the world. The goal of this web site is to help those interested to use their Spiritual Gifts in order to fulfill the mission Christ has given us to love the world.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

